## Safety Director & Safety Person of the Year Awarded During the Safety Congress

A record 75 DCA safety professionals gathered April 1-3 at the Hutton Hotel, in Nashville, to participate in the association's 24th Annual Safety Congress. The event is a venue for construction industry safety personnel to network, share creative training concepts, discuss trends and to hear from leading safety training consultants, other safety directors and risk management executives. The highlight of the meeting was the awarding of the 2018 Safety Director and Safety Person of the Year awards by DCA President Mike Hickey of The Hallen Construction Co.

The DCA Safety Director of the Year award began in 1998 to recognize the importance of the Safety Directors role in today's construction industry. The winning Safety Director must first be nominated by the management of their company. The finalists are then selected by members of the DCA Safety Committee and then voted on by his or her peers having similar responsibilities with their respective DCA member companies. The winner receives a plaque and \$1,000 check. The nominees for the 2018 Safety Director of the Year award were:

- Travis Flowers, Brotherton Pipeline
- Tony Hartman, Oz Directional Drilling
- Chris Moulden, ARB, Inc.
- Tony Sandwick, Q3 Contracting
- Mike Villa, United Piping

The award was given to Travis Flowers, Environmental, Health and Safety Manager, for Brotherton Pipeline Inc., Gold Hill, Oregon. Flowers has been the Safety Manager for 4 years has played an important role in the safety performance of Brotherton throughout that time. He has been a key person in changing the safety culture at Brotherton with their "Good Catch" incentive program; a implementing a GPS tracking system to manage equipment and drivers; and moving reports, forms and inspection sheets to a web portal and safety meeting app.

The Safety Person of the Year award started at a Safety Congress a few years ago where it was suggested that the DCA create another award for someone within the company who has made a lasting impact on safety. The candidate may be someone in Safety, Operations, Equipment Management or any department of the company that deserves recognition. Like the DCA Safety Director of the Year Award, the Safety Person of the Year receives a cash prize of \$1,000 and an appropriate plaque as a reward for his/her efforts during the past year. The nominees for the 2018 Safety Person of the Year were:

- Doug Fleming, Primoris Distribution Services
- Brooks Scott, Miller Pipeline

Brooks Scott, Safety, Quality, and Compliance Coordinator for Miller Pipeline in Indianapolis, Indiana was recognized as the 2018 Safety Person of the Year. Scott has been with Miller Pipeline southern region for 6 years and has been instrumental in improving in developing crew relationships and build a strong safety culture in Mississippi and Arkansas.

This year's safety congress was well received by those in attendance and included presentations on some very important issues affecting the industry and the United States. Topics included: The Buried Truth Uncovered, Eric Giguere, Safety Awareness Solutions; Fatigue in the Workplace, National Safety Council; Aftermath of the Pella, Iowa Tornado, Steve Flann, Vermeer Corp.; HDD Safety Panel, Stacey Moore, Ditch Witch & Dan Vroom, Vermeer Corp.; OQ Update, Brad Heck, Miller Pipeline; and PSMS: It's a Journey, Not a Destination, Geoff Isbell, Energy worldnet. DCA wishes to thank the 2019 Safety Congress Co-Chairmen: Justin Hutchens of Miller Pipeline and David Steinberg of Carson Corporation for their efforts in organizing this year's Safety Congress.